Jordan Brusig, CIF-Southern Section Division 5 Coach of the Year

END ZONE NOTES: Wheatley, Moi, Scott and Broadway crack All-CIF lineup from Citrus Valley selections … Division 5 champ Aquinas has seven selections from virtually every position.

Redlands' Jordan Brusig, who coaches Aquinas High School's football team, failed to get named his own league's Coach of the Year honors.

Not quite the expected result for driving the Falcons to another Ambassador League championship.

The fifth-year Aquinas coach, however, was named CIF-Southern Section Division 5 Coach of the Year after the Falcons won an even bigger prize -- the Div. 5 team title.

Ontario Christian coach Matt Hoekstra won league Coach of the Year honors, a slight that Brusig doesn't seem to mind.

"Matt deserved it," said Brusig. "They beat (Temecula) Linfield (Christian)" -- a team that reached the CIF Division 10 semifinals.

In truth, the 2019 Southern Section All-CIF football team released on Feb. 3, had a nice collection of players from Brusig's roster.

It was highly expected that the Falcons would dominate the post-season awards with a flurry of selections.

It started with Brusig, the architect of a team that dropped its first two games last season to dominant defending CIF champions, Simi Valley Grace Brethren and Fontana Kaiser.

Until a closely played duel in the state championship against Clayton Valley Charter, the Falcons never lost again.

Brusig was named Division 5 Coach of the Year.

“It’s a case of ‘to the victor go the spoils,’ ” said Brusig, a few days after All-CIF teams from divisions 1-14 were released by Southern Section officials.

In other words, championship teams get first dibs on Player of the Year recognition, plus multiple All-CIF spots.

Jake Henderson was Aquinas’ defensive coordinator, helping for the nucleus of a championship-level defense.

Assistants included Will Seltz, George Anagnostopoulos, Steve Paramo and Anthony Valenzuela who, along with Brusig, worked its way to a 13-3 overall record.

Virtually every coach had an All-CIF player in their group this past season.

All-CIF selections are usually reserved for the very elite players -- virtually all from playoff teams -- throughout the massive 13-division Southern Section.

Pass-rushing phenom Sione Lolohea, a 6-foot-3, 235-pound lineman who had 14 QB sacks, copped the Defensive Player of the Year honors after posting a team-high 143 tackles.

Fleet running back Terayon Sweet (1,328 yards, 21 TDs), who was a force throughout the playoffs, was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Both are seniors.

“Coaches are cool about that,” said Brusig, who assembled with coaches from every division at All-CIF selection held at Corona Santiago High School. Lolohea and Sweet were the lone nominees in the Player of the Year categories.

Throw in a handful of other Falcons who were named All-CIF.

Junior QB Francisco Mauigoa and freshman Francis Mauigoa, a lineman, plus BYU-bound WR Terance Fall, LB Romeo Ross and defensive lineman Tapena Tuitupou who round out Aquinas' seven selections.

* * *

Four players from Citrus Valley -- QB Dylan Wheatley and his top receiver, Jordan Scott, blocking force Jared Broadway and linebacker Jacob Moi -- won All-CIF honors in Division 5.

Wheatley set school records with 173 completions, 3,132 yards and 47 TD passes throughout a 12-game junior season.

Scott, a senior, was picked as a defensive back and not a receiver, though 17 of his 48 passes went for TDs on 955 yards.

Broadway was part of a blocking force that protected such combinations as Wheatley-Scott, in addition to WR Ty’jhon Belton and TE Colby Grimes combining on another 71 catches and 1,200 yards.

In addition, senior RB Jordan Garcia-Frye logged in behind the Broadway-led blocking forces for over 1,400 yards rushing.

Moi’s 136 tackles indicated he was one of the team’s top hitters, racking up 2 ½ QB sacks for the 10-2 Blackhawks.

It took CIF Player of the Year, RB Malik Sherrod, and his teammate, linebacker Caleb McCullough, who was Defensive Player of the Year, to knock the Blackhawks out of the playoffs in the CIF Division 6 quarterfinals.

It was CIF Coach of the Year Mike Moon who coached that Oxnard Pacifica team, eventually winning the section championship.

On the Feb. 5 signing day committing to college, the Blackhawks landed Scott at Dixie (Utah) State, Moi at University of Texas-El Paso and DE Steven Pollard at Northwest Missouri.

“More signings to come,” said Blackhawks’ coach Kurt Bruich, “in the near future.”