To read more, visit

The Southern California Association of Governments (SCAG) is making available $23 million to its subregional partners for projects that would accelerate home and apartment production and help local jurisdictions meet their immediate and longer-term housing needs.

The funding is through SCAG’s share of the state’s Regional Early Action Program (REAP), designed to help cities, counties and regions address the critical housing shortage across California. Last week, SCAG released jurisdiction-by-jurisdiction draft allocations for the 6th Cycle Regional Housing Needs Assessment (RHNA) – a state-mandated process to ensure that jurisdictions plan for the housing needs of all residents regardless of income.

The Subregional Partnership Program would support local planning activities throughout the six-county SCAG region that are aimed at increasing housing production. Sixteen subregional agencies and joint powers authorities are eligible to apply.

“The housing crisis has been and remains one of the most significant challenges we face as a region and a state. Through our partnership with subregional agencies, we have the opportunity to provide communities with critical support in addressing their housing needs,” said SCAG President Rex Richardson, a Long Beach City Councilmember.

Last year, as part of the 6th Cycle RHNA process, the state Department of Housing and Community Development set a target of 1.34 million new homes for the six-county SCAG region by the end of the decade. The housing shortage has made California one of the most expensive markets in the United States, with an average home price nearly 2 ½ times greater than the national average and average rents nearly 50% higher than the rest of the country.

The first date for subregions to file applications is Thursday,  Sept. 17, and applications are due by Dec. 1. SCAG will review all applications to determine eligibility and assess alignment with regional priorities.

Subregional partners

  • Coachella Valley Association of Governments
  • Gateway Cities Council of Governments
  • Imperial County Transportation Commission
  • Las Virgenes-Malibu Council of Governments
  • City of Los Angeles
  • County of Los Angeles (unincorporated)
  • County of Riverside (unincorporated)
  • North Los Angeles County
  • Orange County Council of Governments
  • San Bernardino County Council of Governments
  • San Fernando Valley Council of Governments
  • San Gabriel Valley Council of Governments
  • South Bay Cities Council of Governments
  • Ventura County Council of Governments
  • Westside Cities Council of Governments
  • Western Riverside Council of Governments