Art Association presents big talent in small spaces

First place in the Redlands Art Association’s 51st annual Multimedia Mini Show went to Karen Clark from Rancho Cucamonga for her watercolor, “Seeking Warmth.”

The 51st annual Multimedia Mini Show, sponsored by the Redlands Art Association, is now open through March 12 at the downtown Gallery and Art Center, 215 E. State St., Redlands. Ninety-two artists submitted 234 pieces of art but only 168 pieces were chosen to show.

Jennifer Frias from Claremont was selected as juror for the exhibit. Frias is the director/curator of the Begovich Gallery at Cal State University, Fullerton. She is a contributing writer for KCET Artbound. She is also a practicing designer and artist working in photography and installation.

Her curatorial projects have led efforts that connect contemporary art and visual culture into the classroom and the community. The Mini Show is unique to Redlands. What makes it different from all other judged exhibits is the limitation of the art piece to 14 ½ inches on any side, including base or frame and that all media are allowed for the show.

For example, artists submitted photography, digital (computer) work, drawings, ceramics, sculptures in stone and metal, as well as the traditional fine arts.

Naturally, its success has spawned similar shows, however, the MMM Show is still the only one of this scale in Southern California. The Art Association opened the Mini Show with a private preview of the show to people who pledged to buy art from the show.

The Purchase Award Patrons: Judith Sparhawk, Linda Willason, Kris Bussard, Grace Fermier and Sandy Davies purchased pieces from Kathryn Young, Ernesto Gomez, Pat Meeker, Cindy Sullivan and Ed Sotello.

51st annual Multimedia Mini Show awards

 First place: $400 to Karen Clark from Rancho Cucamonga for her watercolor, “Seeking Warmth.”

Second: $300 to Mary Gehley of Corona for her gourd, “Bud.”

Third: $200 to Dave Saline of Redlands for his oil painting, “Musing.”

Juror’s Choice Awards: $50 each went to Tony Radcliffe of Redlands and Alan Remele of Yucaipa.

Excellence Awards: $50 each were given to Martha Cowan of Rancho Cucamonga and Geeta Pattanaik of Riverside.

Joan Wiley Memorial Award: $100 was given to Ernesto Gomez of Redlands.

Past Presidents Award: $100 was given to Sioux Bally-Maloof of Mentone.

Doris S. Cook Memorial Award: $50 given to Johathan Corbridge of Redlands.

Best in Watercolors Award: $50 to Denise Westcott of Beaumont.

Honorable mentions: Betty Francis, Bruce Herwig, Jeff Owens, Dave Saline and Lucinda Swain.